No nose sweeter than thine

This, my dears, is Arnaga, the house the French author Edmond Rostand constructed after ‘Cyrano de Bergerac’ made him terribly rich. It has become a lieu of pelgrimage for me and a moment of peace and quiet when I am hospitalised twice a year in one of the marvelous ‘health-slammers’ of Cambo-les Bains.
Okay, that’s me, now back to Arnaga and Cyrano de Bergerac, both created by Rostand.

Arnaga Swan

Don’t know if the Swan’s name is Cyrano, but why not? I LOVE Cyrano and I love this Swan.
Uh … now how did I get to Arnaga? I was talking about Portugal and my novel The Sleeping Madonna here, wasn’t I? Well, I guess since hardly anybody gives a sh*t about the book and Portugal, I’d skip to my lover, Cyrano de Bergerac. Who knows you’ll find reason to comment on that?
What’s that, Cyrano?
To heck with it, you say, let’s go for a stroll and talk and talk and talk…
Smashing idea, my beloved. No man dearer to me and no nose sweeter than thine

4 Comments to “No nose sweeter than thine”

  1. Ah, Cyrano, the writer’s hero.

    “I would die at the stake rather than change a semi-colon!”

  2. YIPPEE! A comment!
    ‘Put it in a lottery! Assuredly ‘twould be the biggest prize!’
    Yes, Joe, a writer’s hero and my one and only, forever love affair. 🙂

  3. “after ‘Cyrano de Bergerac’ made him terribly rich” – hard to imagine a classic would make someone terribly rich. I think of poor Vincent van Gogh.

    One day I should read the book. Why do I think of Steve Martin?

  4. I’m afraid you are wrong there, Leora, because Rostand did become terribly rich (have a look at that house!) after the huge success of ‘Cyrano de Bergerac’, which is NOT a book, but a theatre play. And, at the time, it surely wasn’t a ‘classic’ yet. That came later 🙂
    Van Gogh is another story, another era, another ‘trade’.
    Steve Martin? NO idea.

Leave a Reply

