I give up! You? Please, don’t.

I love PayPal, find it very handy, always use it, BUT … on this blog they are driving me bonkers!

PAYPAL YOU ARE DRIVING ME BONKERS!

Why? Because they insist on doing their thing in French on this blog, even though I change the language to English some five times a day. Things go beautifully for a few hours and then: BAM! Back to French, just because I happen to be living in France.

But for those of you who do not speak French and find it all very confusing and thus, run away, here’s the trick to pay for the signed and dedicated edition of The Sleeping Madonna by credit/debit card and don’t want to open a PayPal account:

After you click on the Buy Now button, you get to the order page. Look at the RIGHT bottom, where you see all the credit/debit cards. It says:

Vous n’avez pas de compte PayPal ?
Utilisez votre carte bancaire ou votre compte bancaire (le cas échéant).
Continuer

which means:

Don’t have a PayPal account?
Use your credit card or bank account (where available). Continue

… and that’s what you do: you continue/continuer , happily pay with your card and before long will have the Madonna Sleeping with you.

Simple, non?

So, tell me, Mr PayPal, why don’t you understand that this is an ENGLISH blog, not French? As far as I know, PayPal is an American company and they should darn well know that France is not the centre of the world and that there are many people who speak OTHER langages than French. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

4 Comments to “I give up! You? Please, don’t.”

  1. I think it’s to do with the location of your ISP. Mine comes up in French too; but if you look at the top right hand corner beneath the “rechercher” box, you will see a French flag and “francais” next to it. You can change the language there to one of your choice.

  2. I know, Susie. Oddly enough, mine comes up in English, because in my profile I set it to English as my preferred language, but the trick of changing it in ‘rechercher’ doesn’t work here. Only way to get it in English is if I go back to my profile something like every hour and remind them that I want ENGLISH on my site . Quite frustrating, but I hope people got the idea from my post. They drive me bonkers, they do. Bloody incompetent.

  3. No, you can’t set Paypal to come up in English for other people. Depending on the country where their ISP is located, it will come up in that language. But they – the customers, can select the language themselves on the Paypal site by clicking in the box beneath the flag.

  4. I know, but they have to have a PayPal account to be able to do that and not everybody wants one. Anyhow, I hope I explained/translated enough for people to go ahead.
    Thanks, Susie, you’re a Pal 🙂

Leave a Reply

